Consular Section Closures – U.S. Embassy Vientiane

2020 Consular Section Closures

The consular section is open for business Monday-Thursday 8-11AM and 2-3:30PM, Friday’s 8-11am, except most American and Lao Holidays.  All routine consular services are provided by appointment only.  Federal Benefits Services are on a walk-in bases on Wednesdays at 2PM.  Inquiries about routine services can only be made by contacting conslao@state.gov.  We regret we do not have the resources to answer phone inquiries.  Lost and Stolen passport replacement, and requests for temporary emergency passports are seen on a walk-in bases during regular business hours.   In-person immigrant visa inquiries may be made on Thursdays at 2PM on a walk-in, first-come-first-served bases.

EMERGENCIES: For emergencies such as the death, arrest, being a victim of a crime, serious medical emergency, or hospitalization of a U.S. citizen call +85621487000,

Date Holiday
Friday, January 01, 2021 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
Monday, February 15, 2021 Presidents’ Day
Monday, March 08, 2021 International Women’s Day
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 Lao New Year
Thursday, April 15, 2021 Lao New Year
Friday, April 16, 2021 Lao New Year
Monday, May 03, 2021 International Labor Day
Monday, May 31, 2021 Memorial Day
Monday, July 05, 2021 Independence Day
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Lao Women Union Day
Monday, September 06, 2021 Labor Day
Monday, October 11, 2021 Columbus Day
Friday, October 22, 2021 Boat Racing Festival
Thursday, November 11, 2021 Veterans Day
Friday, November 19, 2021 That Luang Festival
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, December 02, 2021 Lao National Day
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Day
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve